Father to the Fatherless : Our Leader

When God created humanity, His intention was to be a Father. He created us in His image according to Genesis 1:26. The original word in Aramaic can be translated as “Shadow.” Meaning, God made us to have the Spirit of Him dwelling in us all along. To fellowship with us and guide us along our path. To take care of us. Everything a Father does, after all, He made us to be His” Shadow.”

Along the way, something went array. Along the way, the Spirit of God dwelling within us was stolen. It was replaced by the flesh. The unruly and insatiable flesh.  Humanity went from knowing they were God’s and operating as a son and a shadow to being naked.  Indeed, God still clothed humanity in their nakedness, but measures had to be taken for full and complete redemption.

What happened in the Garden of Eden isn’t just about choices. It’s about lies. It’s about deception.  The saying is common in the Kingdom, once you know whose you are, and then you know who you are.  What does that really mean?

It means that God made everything in the earth with a purpose and seed inside of it. There is nothing on this earth that doesn’t contribute to the systematic function of the planet.  God orchestrates and governs all of it.  He knows when the sun rises and when the moon falls.  He knows when the bear sleeps and when he arises.  He has made everything to function within its proper time, including you.

That means that you were born for a specific time, in a specific place, for a specific reason, have to work at specific jobs, have to go to that specific church and so on and so forth. Your life is a collection of good and bad moments – constant perpetual activity accompanied by tears, joy, sadness, and anticipation.  Will everything work out perfectly? No, it won’t. Will you never have to endure hurt or pain? Yes, you will.  But God promises to work all things out for your good.  What was meant for evil, He will turn it around for good.  Who you are and what you are made to do lies within the Father.  No one gets to the Father, unless they go through Jesus first.  Meaning, you stand in Jesus’ righteousness and have full and complete access to the Father with no guilt and no shame because Jesus blood covers your past present and future sins.

deception

 

When God put Adam in the garden, He didn’t just put him there to live a life alone. God was there to lead him into this new life.  First, He made Adam, then placed him in the garden, gave him instructions and responsibility, and a warning.  After this, God engaged with Adam. He observed him, talked to him, and discerned his needs and attended to them.  We can only assume that He did the same for Eve, since she and Adam became one when they were joined together. Then, deception.

 

The serpent knew the place to attack man. He could only succeed through deception.  He had to tell Eve that if she ate of the fruit, then she would be “like God knowing good and evil.”  The truth was, Eve was like God.  She was made in His image.  She had the same power, authority, and dominion from the beginning.  God gave it to man in Genesis 2 and 3. Satan had to attack her identity because then he could steal her purpose, thus eliminating her completely from Gods plan.

 

This is important for you to understand because the enemy uses the same tactics today. If we aren’t careful, then we will end up sitting in church, working a job, marrying somebody, and never finding out our purpose.  You could end up living a powerless life because you didn’t know who you were because you never pressed into the God who created you.

 

That was my life. I went on aimlessly looking for validation in jobs, people, school, family and men. I wanted to have purpose so bad! I wanted to be successful.  I thought success equaled purpose, but in all reality I was sucked into complete and total desperation.  When my father died, I was heartbroken.  My whole world came crashing down in the blink of an eye.

 

My Father was in and out of my life. When he moved to Los Angeles, I saw it as my chance to reconnect with him and build a relationship. I didn’t know that my dad was a full blown alcoholic.  However, my dad was the most loving kind and gentle man I knew when he was sober, but when alcohol hit his system, fire and rage burned in his eyes.  He was intelligent and always willing to help me with any situation.  As time went on, our relationship developed into an unhealthy codependent relationship.  My dad didn’t want to be alone and wanted to know that his children didn’t hate him for his mistakes.  I needed a dad so bad that it didn’t matter that I was getting cheated out of the deal.  It didn’t matter to either one of us that we were being cheated out of what God had designed for us.  We were operating under deception.  Because the love of my father was what I needed, although not complete it filled a small void.  After a while, it became draining for me as a young 23 year old and not to mention a financial and emotional burden.  I just wanted my daddy to love me.

When my dad died, I couldn’t form a smile for a million dollars. My heart was in pieces.  I was wrecked with guilt, shame, embarrassment, hurt, and worthlessness.  Now that he was gone, I had no one to take care of, no one to want me, and no one to love me.  I thought my dad was the only person in the world who loved me.

Deception

In four years, I struggled with a condition that doctors said I could never be cured of, went through a surgery, lost my father, went through hardship at work, and got in a car accident. I was desperate.  A coworker invited me to church and I rededicated my life to the Lord, but I still was defeated.  I tried my best to fit in and fellowship with people, but it didn’t work.  I served diligently and faithfully, but I was still hurt.  I read my bible and joined an all-girls community, but I still felt odd. I went to work and stayed late, but still was denied promotion.  I sat in meetings with top CEOs and talented people, but was never accepted as one of them.  I did the work, but I was never accepted.  Who was I?  I certainly could not be who I wanted to be or who people at church thought I should be.  I could only be who God made me to be.  The problem was, I didn’t know who God made me to be.  I spent so much time asking God for things that I thought would make me happy and successful, that I did not get to know Him as well as I could have.  The beautiful thing about our God is that He did bless me with what I wanted and needed, but He also showed me that it wasn’t who I was at the same time.  A double negative turned into a double positive.

The first step into getting to know God, is accepting Jesus Christ. Then, submitting your life to Jesus.  Acknowledge that as a Father, God, is your leader. God leads us through the guidance of the Holy Spirit and through Christ, who is the head of the church.

What is a leader? Glad you asked 🙂

  1. God is our Leader {Leader: the person who leads or commands a group…chief, head, principal.} Leaders make the best decisions for those under their guidance. The ultimate goal is success and prosperity.

A.  God has a passion and desire to bring us into our purpose and to prosper us. {Prosper: flourish physically; grow strong and healthy}

Ephesians 2:10 NKJV

10 For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand that we should walk in them.

Psalm 35:27 NKJV

Let them shout for joy and be glad, Who favor my righteous cause; And let them say continually, “Let the Lord be magnified, Who has pleasure in the prosperity of His servant.”

Jeremiah 29:11 NKJV

For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.

B.  As a leader, our Father’s desire and passion is to bring out the very best in us while in His care by loving, pruning, chastising, rewarding, and blessing us.

C. God hasn’t left us without guidance or example. He sent His only Son Jesus, to the earth, Who lived a sinless life.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

